Eight More of My Favorite Old School Magic the Gathering Illustrations

Here are eight more of my favorite illustrations from a period I regard as Magic: the Gathering’s golden age — its inception in 1993 until about 1999. Magic, for those of you that are cool, or missed my last post, is fantasy trading card mass-nerdom wherein players battle each other using fantastical monsters and creatures, spells, enchantments, and artifacts.

Atog, illustrated by Jesper Myrfors
This card and artwork first appeared in: Antiquities

My description: A roided-up, purple Chupacabra-like thing with orange-amber eyes and a fiendish, unnerving grin.

Card Atog

Chaos Orb, illustrated by Mark Tedin
This card and artwork first appeared in: Alpha

My description: A floating brain with a face barfing waterfalls of lava into a sea of lava.

Card Chaos Orb

Crater Hellion, illustrated by Daren Bader
This card and artwork first appeared in: Urza’s Saga

My description: A towering parasite worm with barbed tentacles, teeth, grabby stuff, and all manner of nasty business protruding from its face hole. It appears to be made of molten rock.

Card Crater Hellion

Giant Mantis, illustrated by Randy Gallegos
This card and artwork first appeared in: Mirage

My description: This one cracks me up — a scarily oversized Praying Mantis snatching winged horses from the sky as if they were bumblebees.

Card Giant Mantis

Greater Werewolf, illustrated by Dennis Detwiller
This card and artwork first appeared in: Homelands

My description: A guy in the process of shapeshifting into a werewolf, his two melty, conjoined faces resembling the result of some botched experiment. If every werewolf movie transformation scene were at least half this cool, werewolf movies would probably be more popular.

Card Greater Werewolf

Juzam Djinn, illustrated by Mark Tedin
This card and artwork first appeared in: Arabian Nights

My description: A vaguely The Lord of Darkness from Legend-like genie, but green, and what looks to be hundreds of feet taller. The sheer size differential between this guy and the squirming Arabian man he’s got pinched between his fingers is what makes this so great for me.

Card Juzam

Killer Bees, illustrated by Phil Foglio
This card and artwork first appeared in: Legends

My description: Another funny one — a fleet of what I assume to be normal-size bees, equipped with itty bitty shields, swords, and javelins.

Card Killer Bees

Leviathan, illustrated by Mark Tedin
This card and artwork first appeared in: The Dark

My description: A megamouthed whale of biblical proportions with a long, winding eel body. Is the lighthouse it’s yelling at or in the process of devouring underwater, or, is Leviathan descending from the Heavens? These are the questions that keep me up at night.

Card Leviathan [alt]

_________________________

Have you played this game? What are your favorite cards and illustrations? Let me know.

One Response to “Eight More of My Favorite Old School Magic the Gathering Illustrations”

  1. The Knitting Cinephile Says:

    I was living in Tacoma WA in 1994 and this game was THE shit. I remember going to sci-fi cons and there were huge ballrooms full of 24-hour Magic competitions. And all you needed was a good deck of cards!

    Liked by 1 person

two cents here

